Japanese pottery

Japanese Culture / Art

There are many production areas of ceramics in Japan, but their history is very old, and the traditional techniques are inherited while changing their shapes depending on the times.


Among the ancient Japanese ceramic kilns, there are currently six kilns that meet the condition that “there is a history from the end of the Heian period to the Azuchi-Momoyama period, and production is still ongoing”. The six kilns are called “Rokko-Yoh(六古窯)”.

Specifically, there are six of them: Shigaraki(信楽), Bizen(備前), Tamba(丹波), Echizen(越前), Seto(瀬戸), and Tokoname(常滑).

I would like to introduce the history and characteristics of this Japanese six ancient kiln.

1, Shigaraki ware
Shigaraki ware is known for its big pottery.
The Shigaraki raccoon dog figurine is famous.

2, Bizen ware
It follows the flow of Sue pottery from the Kofun period.
It is characterized by the production method by baking without using glaze, the strong reddish taste, and the pattern produced by “kiln change”.

3, Tamba ware
The origin of Tamba ware is said to be from the end of the Heian period to the beginning of the Kamakura period.
During the Edo period, beautiful tea pottery was baked under the guidance of the tea master Kobori Enshu.

4, Echizen ware
The hard and durable Echizen ware pottery was shipped from southern Hokkaido to the coastal areas of the Sea of ​​Japan.

5, Seto ware
Of the six old kilns, Seto ware was the only one that used the technique of applying glaze to bake in order to increase the strength of the vessel.

6, Tokoname ware
Tokoname ware was the oldest and largest of the six old kilns.
One of the characteristics of Tokoname ware is the technique of reddening the iron contained in the raw materials.